Tuesday, June 15, 2021 – « Edge AI Day »

09.00 - 09.10   Welcome & Opening Session

A. Jerraya (CEA-Tech, Grenoble France), M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France), G. Sicard (CEA-Leti, Grenoble, France)

09.10 - 09.30   Tribute to Prof. Dr. Wolfgang ROSENSTIEL

O. Bringmann (Tuebingen University, Germany), W. Nebel (Offis, Germany)

09.30 - 11.00  Keynote  
Chairs: M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France),  
           H. Schmidt (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     Embedded AIML beyond Audio and Vision
     Wolfgang FURTNER (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     Anomaly detection in Manufacturing thanks to AI & Data sciences
     Jean-Francois CHRISTAUD (STMicroelectronic, Rousset, France)

11.00- 11.15   Break

11.15 - 12.45 Technical Session 1: Industrial AI solution  for Digitalization in Europe 
Chairs: M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France),  
           H. Schmidt (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     “Analysis of Edge-Optimized Deep Learning Classifiers for Radar-based Gesture Recognition”
     Mateusz CHMURSKI (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)
     “Spiking neural networks in radar applications”
     A. MUHAMMAD (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     “Efficient Deep Learning Approaches for Fault Detection in the Semiconductor Industry” 
     Frédéric PETROT (TIMA laboratory, Univ. Grenoble Alpes, France)

12.45 - 13.45  Lunch Break

13.45 - 15.15 Session 2: Role of the RTOs in the future of R&D in Europe 
Chair: C. Reita (CEA Leti, Grenoble, France)

     Jo DE BOECK, Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) and EVP, imec, Belgium 
     Albert HEUBERGER, Executive Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS and Speaker of the  Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics, FhG, Germany 
     Mikko MERIMAA, Vice President of Research, VTT, Finland  (TBC) 
     Jean René LEQUEPEYS, Deputy Director in charge of Programs, CEA-Leti, France
15.15 - 15.30  Break

15.30 - 17.00 Session 3: Strategic directions for ECS 
Chair: A. Jerraya (CEA-Tech, Grenoble France)
    European funding landscape and ECS Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda
     Patrick COGEZ (Technical Programme Manager, AENEAS, Paris, France)
     “From ECSEL to KDT
     Bert DE COLVENAER (Executive Director, ECSEL Joint Undertaking, Brussels, Belgium)

     “The French Recovery plan: how it could foster competitiveness and sustainability of French economy 
     Emilie VIASNOFF (CEA DRT, Grenoble, France)
Wednesday, June 16, 2021 – « Future Technologies Days »
09.00 - 09.45  Keynote  
Chair: J. Haase (edacentrum GmbH, Dresden, Germany)

     Charge-carrier spin qubits in silicon, an opportunity for large-scale quantum computing"
     Yvain Thonnart (CEA List, Grenoble, France), Benoit Bertrand (CEA Leti, Grenoble, France), Tristan Meunier (institut Néel, Grenoble, France)

09.45 - 11.15 Technical Session 4: AI for Smart Agriculture 
Chair: M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France)

     “Let the plants do the talking: listen to them for knowing how they feel”
     Danilo DEMARCHI (Professor, Politecnico di Torino, Italy & Visiting Professor, Tel Aviv University, Israel)

     “IoT and AI  for Wine and Champagne Industry  ”
     Rachel OUVINHA DE OLIVEIRA (VRANKEN-POMMERY, Reims, France), Marcello COPPOLA (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France)

     “AI-Assisted Harvest Assessment on the Champagne Vineyards: challenges and advances” 
     Angelo STEFFENEL (University of Reims, France)
11.15 - 11.30   Break

11.30 - 13.00 Technical Session 5: End to end Security in Digital systems 
Chair: B. Candaele (Thales, France)

     Tutorial: Separation kernels for embedded applications and multicore SoC
    Holger BLASUM (Sysgo GmbH, Klein-Winternheim, Germany)

     “Secure enclave in next generation SoC for end to end security
     Christophe TREMLET (Thales DIS Design Services,  Meyreuil, France)

     “LBIST for secure and safe SoC 
     Thierry VALLINO (Thales SIX, Gennevilliers, France)

13.00 - 14.00  Lunch Break

14.00 - 15.30 Technical Session 6: RISC-V & Open Source Hardware
Chair: C. Fabre (CEA List, Grenoble France)

     “Lagarto: First Silicon RISC-V Academic Processor Developed in Spain”
     Miquel Moreto (UPC and BSC, Spain)

     “Open source HW solutions for EdgeAI: PULP platform in action”
     Frank K. Gürkaynak (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)

     “CORE-V: Industrial Grade, Open-Source RISC-V Cores​” 
     Rick O Connor (The OpenHW Group, Canada)
     “Cache coherency interconnect and Chiplet partitioning for heterogeneous multi-RISC-V cores​ 
     Denis Dutoit (CEA List, Grenoble, France)


15.30 - 15.45  Break

15.45 - 17.15 Technical Session 7: Connected Health
Chair: A. Castillejo (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France)
     “SecPump: A Connected Open Source Infusion Pump for Security Research Purposes
     Cyril Bresch, David Hély, Stéphanie Chollet and Roman Lysecky (Univ. Grenoble alpes, Grenoble INP, LCIS Lab., France)

     “Improving Radiomics Diagnostics Support using AI and related HW acceleration
     David Castells, Debora Gil, Aura Hernandez, Jordi Carrabina (Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain)

     “Accelerating the Connected Care in any Medical Devices 
     Isabelle Marque, Maud Barbado, Juliette Meyzenc (CIC-IT, CHUGA, Grenoble, France), Bernard Stempin, Thibaut Cretinon, Emmanuel Frochot (Maatel, France), Armand Castillejo (STMicroelectronics, Grenoble, France) 

 17.15 - 17.30  Closing Session

Conference Co-chairs: Marcello Coppola (STMicroelectronics), Gilles Sicard (CEA leti) & Ahmed Jerraya (CEA Tech).

Local contact:   


  •        - Martin Barnasconi, NXP, NL
  •        - Patrick Blouet , STMicroelectronics, F
  •        - Bernard Candaele, Thales Group, F
  •        - Patrick Cogez, AENEAS, F
  •        - Marcello Coppola, STMicroelectronics, F
  •        - Mario Diaz-Nava, STMicroelectronics, F
  •        - Manfred Dietrich, Dikuli, D
  •        - Thomas Fleischmann Bosch, D
  •        - Yves Gigase, ECSEL, B
  •        - Jürgen Haase, edacentrum, D
  •        - Ahmed Jerraya, CEA-Tech, F
  •        - Jiri Kadlec, UTIA, CZ
  •        - Enrico Macii, Polito, I
  •        - Cosimo Musca, STMicroelectronics, I
  •        - Franck Oppenheimer, Offis D
  •        - Frederic Petrot TIMA, F
  •        - Patrick Pype, NXP, NL
  •        - Frank Schenkel MunEDA, D
  •        - Holger Schmidt, Infineon, D
  •        - Peter Schneider, FHG, D
  •        - Gilles Sicard , CEA-leti, F
  •        - Anne Vandenbosch, IMEC B
  •        - Ovidiu Vermesan, Sintef, N
  •        - Eugenio Villar, U. Cantabria, E