The European Nanoelectronics Applications, Design & Technology Conference will focus on electronic components, electronic system design, design automation, and manufacturing topics related to micro- and nanoelectronics, which are critical to success for many European companies. Exhaustive research and development in this area have been supported by EUREKA, H2020, and local governments in recent years. This conference will highlight the exciting and promising results primarily from the CATRENE, PENTA, ECSEL/ENIAC, & H2020 projects.

This annual event has a clear focus on deep technical discussions between the leading European experts in the addressed fields, independent from the research programs where the individual projects were started.

The expected attendees will include project managers and leading experts in R&D projects in the fields of nanoelectronics and design technologies and their applications, semiconductor-industry R&D managers, microelectronics experts in applications industries like automotive and industrial, and the major research organizations in the European scientific community.


All European projects related to electronic system design, to design technology and to manufacturing topics are invited to contribute to the conference. Sessions are made of one tutorial presentation (30 min.) and technical presentations (20 min. each) in addition to short presentation of projects (5min each) that are exhibited using posters.

PROGRAM                                                   (information on virtual access condition and registration coming soon)

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 – « Edge AI Day »

09.00 - 09.30   Welcome & Opening Session

A. Jerraya (CEA-Tech, Grenoble France), M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France), G. Sicard (CEA-Leti, Grenoble, France)

09.30 - 11.00  Keynote  
Chairs: M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France),  
           H. Schmidt (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     Embedded AIML beyond Audio and Vision
     Wolfgang FURTNER (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     Anomaly detection in Manufacturing thanks to AI & Data sciences
     Jean-Francois CHRISTAUD (STMicroelectronic, Rousset, France)

11.00- 11.15   Break

11.15 - 12.45 Technical Session 1: Industrial AI solution  for Digitalization in Europe 
Chairs: M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France),  
           H. Schmidt (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     “Analysis of Edge-Optimized Deep Learning Classifiers for Radar-based Gesture Recognition”
     Mateusz CHMURSKI (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     “Spiking neural networks in radar applications”
     A. MUHAMMAD (Infineon Technologies AG, Neubiberg, Germany)

     “Efficient Deep Learning Approaches for Fault Detection in the Semiconductor Industry” 
     Frédéric PETROT (TIMA laboratory, Univ. Grenoble Alpes, France)

12.45 - 13.45  Lunch Break

13.45 - 15.15 Session 2: Role of the RTOs in the future of R&D in Europe 
Chair: C. Reita (CEA Leti, Grenoble, France)

     Jo DE BOECK, Chief Strategy Officer (CSO) and EVP, imec, Belgium 

     Albert HEUBERGER, Executive Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS and Speaker of the  Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics, FhG, Germany 
     Mikko MERIMAA, Vice President of Research, VTT, Finland  (TBC) 

     Jean Rene LEQUEPEYS, Deputy Director in charge of Programs, CEA-Leti, France
15.15 - 15.30  Break

15.30 - 17.00 Technical Session 3: AI for Smart Agriculture 
Chair: M. Coppola (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France)

     “Let the plants do the talking: listen to them for knowing how they feel”
     Danilo DEMARCHI (Professor, Politecnico di Torino, Italy & Visiting Professor, Tel Aviv University, Israel)

     “IoT and AI  for Wine and Champagne Industry  ”
     Rachel OUVINHA DE OLIVEIRA (VRANKEN-POMMERY, Reims, France), Marcello COPPOLA (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France)

     “AI-Assisted Harvest Assessment on the Champagne Vineyards: challenges and advances” 
     Angelo STEFFENEL (University of Reims, France)

Wednesday, June 16, 2021 – « Future Technologies Days »
09.00 - 09.45  Keynote  
Chair: A. Jerraya (CEA-Tech, Grenoble France)

     Quantum Computing"
     Yvain Thonnart (CEA List, Grenoble, France), Benoit Bertrand (CEA Leti, Grenoble, France), Tristan Meunier (institut Néel, Grenoble, France)

09.45 - 11.15 Technical Session 4: Public Authority session  
Chair: A. Jerraya (CEA-Tech, Grenoble France)

     Under Construction

11.15 - 11.30   Break

11.30 - 13.00 Technical Session 5: End to end Security in Digital systems 
Chair: B. Candaele (Thales, France)

     Under Construction

13.00 - 14.00  Lunch Break

14.00 - 15.30 Technical Session 6: RISC-V & Open Source Hardware
Chair: C. Fabre (CEA List, Grenoble France)

     “Lagarto: First Silicon RISC-V Academic Processor Developed in Spain”
     Miquel Moreto (UPC and BSC, Spain)

     “Open source HW solutions for EdgeAI: PULP platform in action”
     Frank K. Gürkaynak (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)

     Rick O Connor (The OpenHW Group, Canada)

15.30 - 14.45  Break

15.45 - 17.15 Technical Session 6: Connected Health
Chair: A. Castillejo (STMicroelectronic, Grenoble, France)
     “SecPump: A Connected Open Source Infusion Pump for Security Research Purposes
     Cyril Bresch, David Hély, Stéphanie Chollet and Roman Lysecky (Univ. Grenoble alpes, Grenoble INP, LCIS Lab., France)

     “Improving Radiomics Diagnostics Support using AI and related HW acceleration
     David Castells, Debora Gil, Aura Hernandez, Jordi Carrabina (Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain)

     “Accelerating the Connected Care in any Medical Devices 
     Isabelle Marque, Maud Barbado, Juliette Meyzenc (CIC-IT, CHUGA, Grenoble, France), Bernard Stempin, Thibaut Cretinon, Emmanuel Frochot (Maatel, France), Armand Castillejo (STMicroelectronics, Grenoble, France) 

 17.15 - 17.30  Closing Session


Conference Co-chairs: Marcello Coppola (STMicroelectronics), Gilles Sicard (CEA leti) & Ahmed Jerraya (CEA Tech).

Local contact:   


  •        - Martin Barnasconi, NXP, NL
  •        - Patrick Blouet , STMicroelectronics, F
  •        - Bernard Candaele, Thales Group, F
  •        - Patrick Cogez, AENEAS, F
  •        - Marcello Coppola, STMicroelectronics, F
  •        - Mario Diaz-Nava, STMicroelectronics, F
  •        - Manfred Dietrich, Dikuli, D
  •        - Thomas Fleischmann Bosch, D
  •        - Yves Gigase, ECSEL, B
  •        - Jürgen Haase, edacentrum, D
  •        - Ahmed Jerraya, CEA-Tech, F
  •        - Jiri Kadlec, UTIA, CZ
  •        - Enrico Macii, Polito, I
  •        - Cosimo Musca, STMicroelectronics, I
  •        - Franck Oppenheimer, Offis D
  •        - Frederic Petrot TIMA, F
  •        - Patrick Pype, NXP, NL
  •        - Frank Schenkel MunEDA, D
  •        - Holger Schmidt, Infineon, D
  •        - Peter Schneider, FHG, D
  •        - Gilles Sicard , CEA-leti, F
  •        - Anne Vandenbosch, IMEC B
  •        - Ovidiu Vermesan, Sintef, N
  •        - Eugenio Villar, U. Cantabria, E